2026 report · verified July 2026–October 2026

The State of Mental Health CE Requirements, 2026

What continuing education actually costs a licensed mental-health professional depends less on their license than on their address. This report compares the board rules behind 240 state–profession combinations, every U.S. state, for LPC, LMFT, LCSW, Psychologist, Addiction Counselor, compiled from 921 versioned, board-sourced rulesets and re-verified on a rolling schedule. Every figure links to the state page that cites its board source.

Widest gap

5×

Vermont asks a Psychologist for 30 CE hours a year, while Idaho asks a LPC for 6. That's the same clinical work at 5× the annual CE load.

Typical burden

20 hrs/yr

The median board asks for 20 hours a year once cycle lengths are normalized. Most boards run one- or two-year cycles of 20–40 total hours.

Ethics minimums

78%

187 of 240 state–profession rules carve out an explicit ethics minimum (median 3 hours per cycle). The rest fold ethics into the general total.

Online CE caps

30 states

30 states cap self-study or recorded ("online") CE for at least one of these professions, a limit that surprises licensees who plan to renew entirely on-demand.

CE burden by state: who asks for the most?

Boards run different cycle lengths (one, two, or three years), so raw totals mislead. The maps and rankings below normalize every rule to hours per year. Hover or tap a state tile to open its full requirement page.

Full LPC ranking (50 states)
#StateCredentialPer cycleHours / yearRelative burden
1MaineLPC & LCPC55 / 2 years27.5
2WyomingLPC45 / 2 years22.5
3AlabamaLPC40 / 2 years20
4AlaskaLPC40 / 2 years20
5ColoradoLPC40 / 2 years20
6DelawareLPCMH40 / 2 years20
7IndianaLMHC & LMHCA40 / 2 years20
8IowaLMHC40 / 2 years20
9LouisianaLPC & LPC-S40 / 2 years20
10MarylandLCPC40 / 2 years20
11MinnesotaLPC & LPCC40 / 2 years20
12MissouriLPC40 / 2 years20
13MontanaLPC20 / 1 year20
14NevadaLCPC40 / 2 years20
15New HampshireLCMHC40 / 2 years20
16New JerseyLPC40 / 2 years20
17New MexicoLPCC & LMHC40 / 2 years20
18North CarolinaLCMHC & LCMHCS40 / 2 years20
19OklahomaLPC20 / 1 year20
20OregonLPC40 / 2 years20
21Rhode IslandLCMHC40 / 2 years20
22South CarolinaLPC40 / 2 years20
23South DakotaLPC & LPC-MH40 / 2 years20
24UtahCMHC & ACMHC40 / 2 years20
25VermontLCMHC40 / 2 years20
26VirginiaLPC20 / 1 year20
27CaliforniaLPCC36 / 2 years18
28GeorgiaLPC & APC35 / 2 years17.5
29West VirginiaLPC35 / 2 years17.5
30NebraskaLIMHP & LMHP32 / 2 years16
31WashingtonLMHC32 / 2 years16
32ArizonaLPC & LAC30 / 2 years15
33ConnecticutLPC & LPC-A15 / 1 year15
34FloridaLMHC30 / 2 years15
35IllinoisLPC & LCPC30 / 2 years15
36KansasLPC & LCPC30 / 2 years15
37MassachusettsLMHC30 / 2 years15
38North DakotaLPC & LPCC30 / 2 years15
39OhioLPC & LPCC30 / 2 years15
40PennsylvaniaLPC30 / 2 years15
41WisconsinLPC30 / 2 years15
42ArkansasLPC & LAC24 / 2 years12
43MississippiLPC & P-LPC24 / 2 years12
44New YorkLMHC36 / 3 years12
45TexasLPC24 / 2 years12
46KentuckyLPCC & LPCA10 / 1 year10
47TennesseeLPC & LPC-MHSP20 / 2 years10
48IdahoLPC & LCPC12 / 2 years6

These states aren't ranked because the board rule has no single total-hour figure: Hawaii, Michigan.

Full LMFT ranking (50 states)
#StateCredentialPer cycleHours / yearRelative burden
1MaineLMFT & CONDITIONAL-LMFT55 / 2 years27.5
2AlaskaLMFT45 / 2 years22.5
3WyomingLMFT45 / 2 years22.5
4AlabamaLMFT & LMFT-A40 / 2 years20
5ColoradoLMFT40 / 2 years20
6DelawareLMFT40 / 2 years20
7IndianaLMFT & LMFTA40 / 2 years20
8IowaLMFT40 / 2 years20
9KansasLMFT & LCMFT40 / 2 years20
10LouisianaLMFT40 / 2 years20
11MarylandLMFT & LCMFT40 / 2 years20
12MinnesotaLMFT40 / 2 years20
13MissouriLMFT40 / 2 years20
14MontanaLMFT20 / 1 year20
15NevadaLMFT40 / 2 years20
16New HampshireLMFT40 / 2 years20
17New JerseyLMFT40 / 2 years20
18New MexicoLMFT40 / 2 years20
19North CarolinaLMFT & LMFTA20 / 1 year20
20OklahomaLMFT20 / 1 year20
21OregonLMFT40 / 2 years20
22Rhode IslandLMFT40 / 2 years20
23South CarolinaLMFT40 / 2 years20
24South DakotaLMFT40 / 2 years20
25UtahLMFT & AMFT40 / 2 years20
26VirginiaLMFT20 / 1 year20
27CaliforniaLMFT36 / 2 years18
28GeorgiaLMFT & LAMFT35 / 2 years17.5
29West VirginiaLMFT35 / 2 years17.5
30NebraskaCMFT32 / 2 years16
31WashingtonLMFT32 / 2 years16
32ArizonaLMFT & LAMFT30 / 2 years15
33ConnecticutLMFT15 / 1 year15
34FloridaLMFT30 / 2 years15
35HawaiiLMFT45 / 3 years15
36IllinoisLMFT30 / 2 years15
37KentuckyLMFT & LMFT-A15 / 1 year15
38MassachusettsLMFT30 / 2 years15
39North DakotaLMFT & LAMFT30 / 2 years15
40OhioLMFT & IMFT30 / 2 years15
41PennsylvaniaLMFT & LAMFT30 / 2 years15
42TexasLMFT30 / 2 years15
43WisconsinLMFT30 / 2 years15
44ArkansasLMFT & LAMFT24 / 2 years12
45MississippiLMFT24 / 2 years12
46New YorkLMFT36 / 3 years12
47TennesseeLMFT & CMFT20 / 2 years10
48VermontLMFT20 / 2 years10
49IdahoLMFT & LAMFT12 / 2 years6

These states aren't ranked because the board rule has no single total-hour figure: Michigan.

Full LCSW ranking (50 states)
#StateCredentialPer cycleHours / yearRelative burden
1AlaskaLCSW & LMSW45 / 2 years22.5
2WyomingLCSW & CSW45 / 2 years22.5
3ColoradoLCSW & LSW40 / 2 years20
4DelawareLCSW & LMSW40 / 2 years20
5IndianaLCSW & LBSW40 / 2 years20
6KansasLSCSW & LMSW40 / 2 years20
7LouisianaLCSW20 / 1 year20
8MarylandLCSW & LMSW40 / 2 years20
9MinnesotaLICSW & LISW40 / 2 years20
10MississippiLCSW & LMSW40 / 2 years20
11MontanaLCSW & LMSW20 / 1 year20
12New HampshireLICSW40 / 2 years20
13New JerseyLCSW40 / 2 years20
14North CarolinaLCSW & CMSW40 / 2 years20
15OregonLCSW40 / 2 years20
16South CarolinaLISW-CP & LMSW40 / 2 years20
17UtahLCSW & CSW40 / 2 years20
18CaliforniaLCSW36 / 2 years18
19NevadaLCSW & LISW36 / 2 years18
20GeorgiaLCSW & LMSW35 / 2 years17.5
21NebraskaCMSW & CSW32 / 2 years16
22OklahomaLCSW & LMSW16 / 1 year16
23WashingtonLICSW & LASW32 / 2 years16
24AlabamaLICSW30 / 2 years15
25ArizonaLCSW & LMSW30 / 2 years15
26ArkansasLCSW & LMSW30 / 2 years15
27ConnecticutLCSW & LMSW15 / 1 year15
28FloridaLCSW30 / 2 years15
29HawaiiLCSW & LBSW45 / 3 years15
30IdahoLCSW & LMSW30 / 2 years15
31IllinoisLCSW & LSW30 / 2 years15
32MichiganLCSW & LMSW45 / 3 years15
33MissouriLCSW & LMSW30 / 2 years15
34New MexicoLCSW & LISW30 / 2 years15
35North DakotaLCSW & LMSW30 / 2 years15
36OhioLISW & LISW-S30 / 2 years15
37PennsylvaniaLCSW & LBSW30 / 2 years15
38Rhode IslandLCSW & LICSW30 / 2 years15
39South DakotaCSW-PIP & CSW30 / 2 years15
40TennesseeLCSW30 / 2 years15
41TexasLCSW & LMSW30 / 2 years15
42VirginiaLCSW30 / 2 years15
43West VirginiaLCSW & LICSW30 / 2 years15
44WisconsinLCSW & APSW30 / 2 years15
45IowaLISW & LMSW27 / 2 years13.5
46MaineLCSW & LMSW25 / 2 years12.5
47New YorkLCSW & LMSW36 / 3 years12
48KentuckyLCSW & CSW30 / 3 years10
49MassachusettsLCSW20 / 2 years10
50VermontLICSW20 / 2 years10
Full Psychologist ranking (50 states)
#StateCredentialPer cycleHours / yearRelative burden
1VermontPsychologist60 / 2 years30
2KansasPsychologist50 / 2 years25
3UtahPsychologist48 / 2 years24
4AlabamaPsychologist20 / 1 year20
5AlaskaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
6ArizonaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
7ArkansasPsychologist20 / 1 year20
8ColoradoPsychologist40 / 2 years20
9DelawarePsychologist40 / 2 years20
10FloridaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
11GeorgiaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
12IndianaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
13IowaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
14MainePsychologist40 / 2 years20
15MarylandPsychologist40 / 2 years20
16MinnesotaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
17MissouriPsychologist40 / 2 years20
18MontanaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
19New HampshirePsychologist40 / 2 years20
20New JerseyPsychologist40 / 2 years20
21New MexicoPsychologist40 / 2 years20
22North DakotaPsychologist40 / 2 years20
23OklahomaPsychologist20 / 1 year20
24OregonPsychologist40 / 2 years20
25TennesseePsychologist40 / 2 years20
26TexasPsychologist40 / 2 years20
27WashingtonPsychologist60 / 3 years20
28WisconsinPsychologist40 / 2 years20
29WyomingPsychologist40 / 2 years20
30CaliforniaPsychologist36 / 2 years18
31IdahoPsychologist30 / 2 years15
32LouisianaPsychologist30 / 2 years15
33MichiganPsychologist30 / 2 years15
34NevadaPsychologist30 / 2 years15
35PennsylvaniaPsychologist30 / 2 years15
36South DakotaPsychologist15 / 1 year15
37VirginiaPsychologist14 / 1 year14
38KentuckyPsychologist39 / 3 years13
39IllinoisPsychologist24 / 2 years12
40NebraskaPsychologist24 / 2 years12
41New YorkPsychologist36 / 3 years12
42North CarolinaPsychologist24 / 2 years12
43Rhode IslandPsychologist24 / 2 years12
44South CarolinaPsychologist24 / 2 years12
45OhioPsychologist23 / 2 years11.5
46ConnecticutPsychologist10 / 1 year10
47MassachusettsPsychologist20 / 2 years10
48MississippiPsychologist20 / 2 years10
49West VirginiaPsychologist20 / 2 years10
50HawaiiPsychologist18 / 2 years9
Full Addiction Counselor ranking (40 states)
#StateCredentialPer cycleHours / yearRelative burden
1CaliforniaLAADC & CADC50 / 2 years25
2LouisianaLAC48 / 2 years24
3New HampshireLADC & MLADC48 / 2 years24
4WyomingLAT & CAP45 / 2 years22.5
5ColoradoLAC & CAS40 / 2 years20
6ConnecticutLADC & CADC20 / 1 year20
7DelawareLCDP40 / 2 years20
8District of ColumbiaCAC I & CAC II40 / 2 years20
9HawaiiCSAC40 / 2 years20
10IndianaLAC & LCAC40 / 2 years20
11KentuckyLADC & LCADC60 / 3 years20
12MarylandLCADC40 / 2 years20
13MassachusettsLADC & LADC II40 / 2 years20
14MinnesotaLADC40 / 2 years20
15MontanaLAC & ACLC20 / 1 year20
16NebraskaLADC40 / 2 years20
17NevadaLADC & LCADC40 / 2 years20
18New JerseyLCADC & CADC40 / 2 years20
19New MexicoLADAC40 / 2 years20
20New YorkCASAC60 / 3 years20
21North CarolinaLCAS40 / 2 years20
22North DakotaLAC & LCAC40 / 2 years20
23OklahomaLADC & LADC/MH20 / 1 year20
24OregonCADC40 / 2 years20
25Rhode IslandLCDP40 / 2 years20
26South CarolinaLAC40 / 2 years20
27South DakotaLAC40 / 2 years20
28TexasLCDC40 / 2 years20
29UtahLMAC & AMAC40 / 2 years20
30VermontLADC & CADC40 / 2 years20
31VirginiaLSATP20 / 1 year20
32ArizonaLISAC & LASAC30 / 2 years15
33ArkansasLADAC & LAADAC30 / 2 years15
34KansasLAC30 / 2 years15
35MississippiCSUT & LCSUT30 / 2 years15
36OhioLICDC & LCDC III30 / 2 years15
37TennesseeLADAC & LADAC-I30 / 2 years15
38WisconsinCSAC & SAC30 / 2 years15
39MaineLADC & CADC25 / 2 years12.5
40WashingtonSUDP20 / 2 years10

Ethics: the near-universal carve-out

78% of the rules in this corpus reserve part of the CE total for ethics, but the boards don't agree on how much, or even on what to call it (ethics, law & ethics, ethics & boundaries, jurisprudence). Here's how the per-cycle minimum is distributed:

1 hr1
2 hrs11
3 hrs82
4 hrs28
5 hrs7
6+ hrs56

Each bar counts the state–profession rules with that explicit ethics minimum, and 53 rules state no separate minimum.

Full table: ethics CE requirements by state →

Online CE: 30 states still cap it

Most boards now accept a fully online renewal, but 66 of the 240 rules here impose an explicit ceiling on self-study or recorded coursework: as hour caps, percentage caps, or live-hours minimums that limit on-demand CE indirectly. Licensees who discover the cap in the last month of a cycle have to find live hours on short notice.

State-by-state detail: which states cap online CE →

One-time mandates and standing obligations

Beyond the recurring hour totals, 71of the rules in this corpus attach at least one training or obligation outside the CE framework: one-time courses tied to first licensure or renewal, and recurring mandates like reporting trainings. These are the requirements licensees most often miss, because course-completion totals look "done" without them.

  • Alaska law (AS 47.17.020/021) imposes a statutory duty on licensed counselors to report suspected child abuse and neglect. The state provides recommended training resources (e.g., the Office of Children's Services online module), but no specific mandated-reporter training course is required as a condition of LPC licensure or renewal, and completion of such training is not tracked by the licensing board. Any such training does NOT count toward the 40-hour CE requirement.
  • One-time training of at least 6 hours in suicide risk assessment and intervention, required by first renewal on or after January 1, 2021 (B&P §§ 4980.396, 4999.66). (6 hours, one time).
  • One-time training of at least 3 hours in providing mental health services via telehealth, required by first renewal after July 1, 2023 (B&P § 4980.395). (3 hours, one time).
  • One-time 7-hour CE course in assessment and treatment of HIV/AIDS (16 CCR § 1887.3(b)). Satisfied in one of two mutually exclusive ways: (a) equivalent prior training submitted with the licensure application — the requirement is then satisfied with ZERO CE hours credited toward the 36-hour total; or (b) a 7-hour CE course completed post-licensure — those 7 hours count toward the 36-hour total. The counts_toward link below applies ONLY to path (b). (7 hours, one time).
  • One-time 7-hour training in child abuse assessment and reporting required as a condition of licensure (B&P § 28; 16 CCR § 1807.2). Typically completed during graduate program or within 5 years prior to licensure application.
  • You need 2 hours of veterans' mental health every 6 years.
  • One-time 3-hour HIV/AIDS education course required by first renewal (Fla. Stat. §491.0065). New licensees may either complete the course as part of the licensure application, or sign an affidavit at application and complete the course within 6 months of initial licensure. The affidavit path is a deferral, not a waiver — the course must still be completed. Functions as a standalone prerequisite that precedes the first CE-required cycle. (3 hours, one time).
  • One-time 2-hour domestic violence course from a board-approved provider, required within 6 months of initial licensure. No waiver or exemption applies based on submission timing with the licensure application — the 6-month post-licensure deadline is firm. (2 hours, one time).
  • One-time 8-hour Florida laws and rules course required before initial licensure issuance. (8 hours, one time).
  • You need 3 hours of florida laws and rules every 6 years.
  • You need 2 hours of domestic violence every 6 years.
  • Illinois mandated reporter training (including implicit bias content) under the Abused and Neglected Child Reporting Act. Must be completed within 3 months of starting as a mandated reporter and at least every 3 years thereafter. Counts toward CE hours.
  • You need 1 hour of cultural competency every 6 years.
  • 6 hours of CE in suicide assessment, treatment, and management, completed within the first 3 years of initial licensure (KRS 210.366). (6 hours, one time).
  • 3 hours of CE in domestic violence within the first 3 years of initial licensure (KRS 194A.540). One-time requirement. (3 hours, one time).
  • You need 3 hours of jurisprudence / state law every 3 years.
  • You need 6 hours of suicide assessment every 6 years.
  • All Maryland health occupation licensees, including LMFTs, must complete an approved training program on implicit bias and structural racism. This is a one-time, lifetime requirement to be completed at the first renewal on or after April 1, 2026. The statute does not specify a minimum number of hours.
  • One-time domestic and sexual violence training required by M.G.L. c.112 §264 and 262 CMR 7.03(2) as a condition of initial licensure and renewal. Once completed from a Board-approved program it need not be repeated; the ~2 CE hours may count toward the 30-hour cycle total. Waived when proof was submitted with the licensure application. Approved programs include the free online Chapter 260 training from the MA Dept. of Public Health. (2 hours, one time).
  • Applicants and licensees must complete Board-approved domestic and sexual violence training as a condition of licensure and renewal. It is a one-time lifetime requirement and the two CE hours count in the cycle in which the training is completed.
  • One-time training in identifying victims of human trafficking, required prior to initial licensure (Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.1771). Content must cover types and venues of trafficking, identification of adult and minor victims in health care settings, warning signs, and reporting resources. Acceptable formats include live, online, webinar, or peer-reviewed article review from professional organizations, law enforcement, governmental agencies, or accredited colleges. May be satisfied via coursework completed during the licensee's degree program; once completed it does not need to be repeated at renewal. (1 hour, one time).
  • Two hours on suicide risk assessment and safety planning every odd year, counted within the 20 annual hours (ARM 24.219.435(4)(a)).
  • At renewal, the Board asks each licensee whether they have received training in immediate, short-term, or long-term treatment of mental/emotional trauma following emergencies, and whether they are willing to volunteer in a disaster (NRS 641A.262). This is a reporting question only, it is NOT a training requirement, and failing to have or report this training is not grounds for denial of renewal.
  • Each licensee shall complete 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years (peer consultation, study groups, supervision, interdisciplinary case discussions). These hours do NOT count toward the 40-hour CE requirement and must be attested to separately at renewal.
  • One-time, pre-licensure training (approximately 2 hours) in the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment, required by N.Y. Education Law §6507 and Social Services Law §413. Required prior to initial licensure or issuance of a limited permit. Does not count toward the 36-hour CE total.
  • Updated child abuse training curriculum covering reducing implicit bias in reporting decisions, Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs), and recognizing signs of abuse via virtual interactions. Mandated reporters who completed the prior child abuse training must complete this updated curriculum by April 1, 2025 (Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2021). Does not count toward the 36-hour CE total.
  • Additional child abuse training component on identifying abuse of children with intellectual or developmental disabilities. Practitioners who took the prior training must complete this new component by November 17, 2026 (Chapter 25 of the Laws of 2024). Does not count toward the 36-hour CE total.
  • You need 2 hours of suicide prevention every 5 years.
  • Two hours of health-equity CE every 4 years.
  • Six hours of Department-model-list suicide assessment, treatment, and management training every 6 years.
  • One-time training of at least 6 hours in suicide risk assessment and intervention, required by first renewal on or after January 1, 2021 (B&P §§ 4980.396, 4999.66). (6 hours, one time).
  • One-time training of at least 3 hours in providing mental health services via telehealth, required by first renewal after July 1, 2023 (B&P § 4980.395). (3 hours, one time).
  • One-time 7-hour CE course in assessment and treatment of HIV/AIDS (16 CCR § 1887.3(b)). Satisfied in one of two mutually exclusive ways: (a) equivalent prior training submitted with the licensure application — the requirement is then satisfied with ZERO CE hours credited toward the 36-hour total; or (b) a 7-hour CE course completed post-licensure — those 7 hours count toward the 36-hour total. The counts_toward link below applies ONLY to path (b). (7 hours, one time).
  • One-time 7-hour training in child abuse assessment and reporting required as a condition of licensure (B&P § 28; 16 CCR § 1807.2). Typically completed during graduate program or within 5 years prior to licensure application.
  • You need 2 hours of veterans' mental health every 6 years.
  • Newly licensed LMFTs must complete a 2-hour Board-approved domestic violence course within the first 6 months of initial licensure. This initial course is SEPARATE from the recurring every-third-renewal domestic violence requirement, both apply. Completing it at licensure means the course does not have to be repeated at the first applicable third-renewal deadline, but the 2-hour domestic violence CE remains due at every third biennial renewal thereafter. It does not count toward renewal CE (no CE is required in the first cycle).
  • A 3-hour HIV/AIDS course must be completed before or within 6 months of initial licensure (or an affidavit filed committing to complete within 6 months). One-time licensure prerequisite; does not count toward renewal CE.
  • An 8-hour Florida laws-and-rules course is required prior to initial LMFT licensure. One-time licensure prerequisite; distinct from the 3-hour laws-and-rules CE due every third renewal; does not count toward renewal CE.
  • You need 2 hours of domestic violence every 6 years.
  • You need 3 hours of laws and rules every 6 years.
  • DCFS-approved mandated reporter training (Recognizing and Reporting Child Abuse). Required of all Illinois LMFTs as designated mandated reporters. Non-medical personnel must complete the training at least once every three years. Required at renewal regardless of any CE exemption, including at the FIRST renewal, when the 30-hour CE requirement is otherwise waived, because it is a condition of licensure under a separate statute (325 ILCS 5/4), not a CE rule. The hour may be counted toward the 30-hour CE requirement if taken through an acceptable provider.
  • One-time 3-hour training covering domestic violence, child abuse, elder abuse, neglect, and exploitation, required by state law (KRS 194A.540), typically within the first three years of licensure. If board-approved for CE, the hours may also count toward the annual CE total in the year taken.
  • You need 6 hours of suicide assessment every 6 years.
  • All Maryland health occupation licensees, including LMFTs, must complete an approved training program on implicit bias and structural racism. This is a one-time, lifetime requirement to be completed at the first renewal on or after April 1, 2026. The statute does not specify a minimum number of hours.
  • Pursuant to M.G.L. c. 112, § 264 and 262 CMR 7.03(2), applicants and licensees must complete Board-approved domestic violence and sexual violence training as a condition for licensure, renewal, revival, or reinstatement. This is a one-time lifetime requirement; once completed it need not be repeated. Completing the approved training also counts for 2 hours of CE credit in the cycle it is taken.
  • One-time training in identifying victims of human trafficking, required by MCL 333.16148 and Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.7202. Must be completed prior to initial licensure (or by first renewal after the mandate took effect). Content must cover the defined topic areas (types of trafficking, warning signs, reporting resources). No minimum hour count is specified. This is a permanent one-and-done obligation; it does not recur each renewal cycle. A human trafficking training already completed under another Michigan health profession license satisfies this requirement and need not be repeated for the LMFT/LLMFT license.
  • Implicit bias training required by Mich. Admin. Code R. 338.7004 for all Article 15 licensees except veterinarians. Required at a rate of 1 hour per year of the license cycle (3 hours per 3-year LMFT cycle; 1 hour per 1-year LLMFT cycle). Recurring each renewal/relicensure. Excess hours may not be carried to the next cycle, and identical/substantially identical training may not be counted twice in one cycle. The training content must focus on recognizing and mitigating implicit biases and the health disparities that result from them.
  • For initial licensure after January 1, 2019, the 2-hour suicide assessment, referral, treatment, and management training must be completed as a one-time prerequisite and may be part of graduate coursework or self-study. This does not replace the recurring biennial suicide-training requirement.
  • Two hours on suicide risk assessment and safety planning every odd year, counted within the 20 annual hours (ARM 24.219.435(4)(a)).
  • At renewal, the Board asks each licensee whether they have received training in immediate, short-term, or long-term treatment of mental/emotional trauma following emergencies, and whether they are willing to volunteer in a disaster (NRS 641A.262). This is a reporting question only, it is NOT a training requirement, and failing to have or report this training is not grounds for denial of renewal.
  • Each licensee must complete 40 hours of collaboration every 2 years under Mhp 403.01 and Mhp 403.02. Collaboration is separate from CE and does not count toward the 40-hour CE total. Qualifying collaboration includes small-group meetings among licensed practitioners, supervision or consultation, study groups, expert consultation, clinical-research collaboration, and provider hospital meetings.
  • One-time, pre-licensure training (approximately 2 hours) in the identification and reporting of child abuse and maltreatment, required by N.Y. Education Law §6507 and Social Services Law §413. Required prior to initial licensure or issuance of a limited permit. Does not count toward the 36-hour CE total.
  • Updated child abuse training curriculum covering reducing implicit bias in reporting decisions, Adverse Childhood Experiences (ACEs), and recognizing signs of abuse via virtual interactions. Mandated reporters who completed the prior child abuse training must complete this updated curriculum by April 1, 2025 (Chapter 56 of the Laws of 2021). Does not count toward the 36-hour CE total.
  • Additional child abuse training component on identifying abuse of children with intellectual or developmental disabilities. Practitioners who took the prior training must complete this new component by November 17, 2026 (Chapter 25 of the Laws of 2024). Does not count toward the 36-hour CE total.
  • You need 2 hours of suicide prevention every 5 years.
  • Approved human trafficking prevention training (Tex. Occ. Code Ch. 116) required as a condition of each license renewal. Course must be approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission; completion certificate required for renewal. Completing the training may be claimed for 1 hour of CE credit toward the 30-hour total.
  • Two hours of health-equity CE every 4 years.
  • Six hours of Department-model-list suicide assessment, treatment, and management training every 6 years.
  • Alabama strongly recommends (but does not require) that all social work licensees and applicants complete the state's Mandated Child Abuse and Neglect Reporter Training, an online training provided by the Alabama Department of Human Resources, at least once. This is a one-time recommendation and is not required for license renewal. If completed through an approved provider, it may count toward CE hours.
  • One-time 6-hour suicide risk assessment and intervention training required for licensees who renew or reactivate after January 1, 2021. (6 hours, one time).
  • One-time 3-hour training or coursework in the provision of mental health services via telehealth required for licensees who renew or reactivate after July 1, 2023. (3 hours, one time).
  • You need 2 hours of veterans' mental health every 6 years.
  • Initial-licensure HIV/AIDS course; an affidavit may defer completion until six months after licensure. (3 hours, one time).
  • Initial-licensure domestic-violence course due within six months after licensure. (2 hours, one time).
  • Initial-licensure eight-hour Florida laws and rules course. (8 hours, one time).
  • Three hours of Florida laws and rules every third biennium (every 6 years).
  • Two hours of domestic violence CE every third biennium (every 6 years).
  • One hour on diagnosis, treatment, and care of individuals with Alzheimer's disease and other dementias, required once every three renewal periods and countable within the 30-hour total.
  • LCSWs must complete six hours of clinical-supervision training on the second renewal after initial licensure, beginning with the renewal ending November 30, 2027. The engine cannot evaluate completed-renewal count, so this remains a manual requirement rather than a date-only one-time proxy.
  • One-hour sexual harassment prevention training required for all Illinois licensees subject to CE. This hour may count toward the 30-hour CE requirement.
  • One-hour implicit bias awareness training required for all Illinois licensees subject to CE. This hour may count toward the 30-hour CE requirement.
  • Mandated reporter training (including implicit bias section) required for social workers as mandated child-abuse reporters under 325 ILCS 5/4. Initial training within 3 months of starting practice, and at least every 3 years thereafter. May count toward CE hours.
  • You need 6 hours of suicide assessment treatment management every 6 years.
  • You need 1.5 hours of pediatric abusive head trauma every 6 years.
  • You need 3 hours of ethics every 2 years.
  • One-time 12-hour training in family or intimate partner violence required for all licensees renewing on or after January 1, 2020. Hours count toward the 25-hour biennial CE total. The Board may accept equivalent IPV training or practice experience completed before January 1, 2020 in satisfaction of this requirement. (12 hours, one time).
  • Maine law requires licensed social workers, as mandated reporters of child abuse/neglect and abuse of incapacitated/dependent adults, to complete the State's mandated reporter training every 4 years. This training is required by law but does NOT count toward the 25-hour biennial CE total.
  • One-time training on implicit bias and structural racism required of all Maryland health-licensed practitioners, including social workers, at the first renewal occurring after April 1, 2026. Attestation is made on the renewal application. This training does NOT count toward the 40-hour CE total.
  • One-time training in domestic and sexual violence required by M.G.L. c.112, §264 and 258 CMR 31.03(4) as a condition of licensure or renewal. The 2 CE credits awarded for completing this training count toward the cycle CE total. Not required if already completed (e.g. submitted with the licensure application). (2 hours, one time).
  • Massachusetts law (M.G.L. c.119, §51A(k)) requires all professionally licensed mandated reporters, including licensed social workers, to complete training to recognize and report suspected child abuse or neglect. This training is legally required but does not count toward the CE hour requirement.
  • Michigan requires implicit bias training for all license renewals on or after June 1, 2022. The requirement is 1 hour of implicit bias training per year of the license cycle (3 hours for a 3-year renewal cycle). This training is mandated by R 338.7004 and is separate from the 45-hour CE total, although qualifying coursework may also count toward CE.
  • Two hours on suicide risk assessment and safety planning every odd year, counted within the 20 annual hours (ARM 24.219.435(4)(a)).
  • Per NRS 641B.282, clinical social workers must report at each renewal their training in the treatment of mental and emotional trauma immediately following an emergency or disaster (short-term and long-term trauma) and their willingness to respond. This is a reporting requirement only; no specific hours are mandated and it does not count toward CE totals.
  • New Jersey statute N.J.S.A. 45:15BB-11.1 requires at least one hour of education on prescription opioid drugs, risks, signs of abuse, addiction, and diversion, for every social work license renewal beginning September 1, 2018. This statutory mandate is satisfied by the 1-hour prescription opioid abuse CE category requirement, which counts toward the 40-hour total.
  • Mandated reporters, including LMSWs and LCSWs who completed earlier training, must complete the updated child-abuse curriculum addressing children with intellectual or developmental disabilities by November 17, 2026.
  • You need 2 hours of suicide prevention every 4 years.
  • Virginia Code § 63.2-1509 designates licensed social workers as mandated reporters of child abuse and neglect, and requires any mandated reporter without prior training to complete a state-approved training on recognizing and reporting child abuse and neglect. This training is a statutory obligation and does NOT count toward the 30-hour CE total. Typically completed once upon qualifying as a mandated reporter.
  • Virginia Code § 63.2-1606 designates licensed health providers (including social workers) as mandated reporters of abuse, neglect, or exploitation of adults. No specific training hours or recurrence are imposed by statute, and this duty is separate from CE.
  • You need 2 hours of health equity every 4 years.
  • You need 6 hours of suicide prevention every 6 years.
  • Mandated child abuse/neglect reporter training via the Alabama DHR. The Board hosts a free online training and states expressly that it does NOT count toward annual CE requirements. The underlying reporting duty (Code of Ala. §26-14-3) is statutory; the training itself is encouraged rather than imposed as a fixed-hour board mandate.
  • One-time requirement (B&P § 2915.4): prior to first renewal, or on reactivation/reinstatement, complete a minimum of 6 hours of coursework or supervised applied experience in suicide risk assessment and intervention. Discharged if obtained in the qualifying graduate program or applied experience. Counts toward the 36-hour total only in the cycle it is first claimed as CE; the same course may not be double-counted at a later renewal. (6 hours, one time).
  • Two contact hours on mental health conditions common to veterans and their families at least once every six years, counted within the 10 annual hours (Conn. Gen. Stat. § 20-191c(b)).
  • You need 2 hours of domestic violence every 6 years.
  • One-hour cultural competency course (§ 1130.525) recurs once every six years. When more than one hour is completed it counts toward the CE total, but no more than one credit hour for any one renewal period. Distinct from the 3-hour diversity requirement. A qualifying course completed for another State licensure or accreditation requirement may count.
  • One-hour Alzheimer's disease and other dementias training (§ 1130.550) recurs once every six years. Applies only to psychologists providing health care services to and with direct patient interactions with adult populations age 26 or older; does not apply to practices limited to persons under 26. The training may also be a qualifying course completed for another State licensure or accreditation requirement.
  • Mandatory child- and dependent-adult-abuse reporter training required by Iowa Code chs. 232 and 235B and 481, 880.12(4). Child abuse identification/reporting is 2 hours; dependent adult abuse training as required by statute. Must be completed through the Iowa Department of Health and Human Services (private vendors may not provide the core hours). May be counted toward the 40 CE hours, capped at the hours required to maintain compliance. Applies only to licensees who examine, attend, counsel, or treat children and/or dependent adults in Iowa. Suspended for active-duty military and those holding a current hardship/disability waiver.
  • A minimum of 6 hours of continuing education in suicide assessment, treatment, and management within the first year of licensure and every six years thereafter, as required by KRS 210.366. These hours count toward the 39-hour CE total. Exempt for the first six years if a qualifying 3-semester-hour graduate course in suicide and crisis assessment, prevention, and intervention was completed during graduate education. Ongoing exemptions apply where the licensee is primarily employed in a Joint Commission (or similarly accredited) clinical setting requiring suicide risk assessment with each patient, teaches a graduate-level psychology course on the subject, or teaches a CE course on the subject at least once during the six-year period.
  • One-time successful completion of a minimum of 3 contact hours of coursework in family or intimate partner violence screening, referral and intervention strategies (including community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment and same-gender abuse dynamics). The board may accept equivalent coursework, teaching, or practice experience completed before January 1, 2020. Counts toward the 40-hour total. (3 hours, one time).
  • Maine law requires licensed health professionals who are mandated reporters (including licensed psychologists and psychological examiners) to complete DHHS-approved mandated reporter training at least once every 4 years. This is a separate DHHS statutory training (~60 minutes; no CE-hour figure assigned) and does NOT count toward the 40-hour Ch. 8 CE total.
  • One-time attestation of completion of an approved implicit-bias and structural-racism training program at the applicant's first license or certificate renewal after April 1, 2026 (Health Occupations Article §1-225). Does not automatically count toward the 40-hour CE total as codified in COMAR 10.36.02.
  • Every 6 years following the initial submission, a renewing licensee must submit to a criminal history records check (COMAR 10.36.01.08A(7)). Not a training and not CE.
  • Domestic and Sexual Violence training (M.G.L. c. 112 § 264; 251 CMR 3.10(1)(c)). Applicants and licensees shall participate in domestic violence and sexual violence training as a condition for licensure, renewal, revival or reinstatement. One-time requirement, complete once and not again before each renewal; a prior completer need not repeat unless the Board requires it. The board grants 2 CE credits for the cycle in which it is taken, and it counts toward the 20-hour CE total. May be completed free online. Failure to attest completion blocks renewal.
  • One-time training in identifying victims of human trafficking meeting R. 338.2525 standards (MCL 333.16148), required prior to obtaining any psychology license. Beginning January 6, 2022. Not part of the CE count but may be satisfied via a qualifying CE activity. The board may select and audit for this training.
  • One-time 2-hour training in suicide assessment, referral, treatment, and management, meeting the committee's guidelines, required as a condition of initial licensure (§337.020.1 RSMo). May be part of the graduate course of study or obtained through self-study; applicants must maintain documentation. Does NOT recur and does NOT count toward the 40-hour CE renewal total. Applies to all applicants for initial licensure (temporary, provisional, or permanent) on or after the statute's effective date; documentation requirement applied to applicants after January 1, 2019.
  • Passage of the jurisprudence examination may be claimed as 1 hour of ethics professional development (22 TAC §463.35(f)(1)). (1 hour, one time).
  • All licensees who provide direct patient care must complete a human trafficking prevention course approved by the Texas Health and Human Services Commission (HHSC) each renewal period (Occ. Code §§116.002, 116.003). The completion may also be claimed as 1 PD hour under 22 TAC §463.35(f)(6).
  • "Six hours in suicide prevention, every six years. Qualifying trainings must meet the standards in WAC 246-924-255 and be listed on the department's model list." (WAC 246-924-230(1)(c)); "Each licensed psychologist shall, at least once every six years, complete a six-hour training in suicide prevention" (WAC 246-924-255(1); RCW 43.70.442(1)(a)(vi)). The six-year cadence spans two three-year CE cycles, so it is evaluated as a rolling 72-month lookback rather than a per-cycle topic floor.
  • You need 2 hours of veterans' mental health every 6 years.
  • You need 6 hours of suicide prevention every 6 years.
  • All Maryland health occupation licensees, including LMFTs, must complete an approved training program on implicit bias and structural racism. This is a one-time, lifetime requirement to be completed at the first renewal on or after April 1, 2026. The statute does not specify a minimum number of hours.
  • Two hours on suicide risk assessment and safety planning every odd year, counted within the 20 annual hours (ARM 24.219.435(4)(a), as amended effective August 22, 2026).
  • "Person Centered Care (1 hour)", one of the trainings that "are mandatory one-time requirements that must be completed by applicants pursuing the CASAC and individuals renewing their CASAC credential" (https://oasas.ny.gov/one-time-requirements-casac-pdf). Provided free by Partnership to End Addiction. (1 hour, one time).
  • "Cannabis Use Disorder Diagnostic Criteria and Assessment (1 hour)", a mandatory one-time requirement for applicants and renewing CASACs (https://oasas.ny.gov/one-time-requirements-casac-pdf). (1 hour, one time).
  • "Opioid Overdose Prevention Basics (1 hour)", a mandatory one-time requirement for applicants and renewing CASACs (https://oasas.ny.gov/one-time-requirements-casac-pdf). (1 hour, one time).
  • "NYS Mandated Reporter Training (2 hours)", provided by the NYS Office of Children and Family Services; "This training was updated on 11/1/22. To satisfy this requirement, the training certificate must be dated 11/1/22 or after" (https://oasas.ny.gov/one-time-requirements-casac-pdf). The engine does not check the 11/1/22 floor; see format_rules. (2 hours, one time).
  • "Harm Reduction Is Part of the Treatment Continuum (1.5 hour)", a mandatory one-time requirement for applicants and renewing CASACs, offered through OASAS Learning Thursdays (https://oasas.ny.gov/one-time-requirements-casac-pdf). (1.5 hours, one time).
  • "Monitoring for Suicide Risk in Treatment Settings (1 hour)", a mandatory one-time requirement for applicants and renewing CASACs, offered through OASAS Learning Thursdays (https://oasas.ny.gov/one-time-requirements-casac-pdf). (1 hour, one time).
  • You need 1 hour of suicide prevention every 4 years.
  • HHSC-approved human trafficking prevention course each renewal period. "A health care practitioner, other than a physician or nurse, within the time prescribed by commission rule shall successfully complete a training course approved by the executive commissioner on identifying and assisting victims of human trafficking" (Tex. Occ. Code 116.002(a)), required "as a condition for renewal of a license issued to the health care practitioner under this title" (116.003). A "health care practitioner" holds a license "issued under this title to engage in a health care profession and who provides direct patient care" (116.001(3)); chapter 504 sits in Title 3. HHSC's LCDC continuing education page lists it as a "Required Human Trafficking Prevention Course" each renewal period. No hour figure is set, so any logged completion tagged human trafficking satisfies it.
  • You need 3 hours of suicide assessment, including screening and referral every 6 years.
  • You need 2 hours of health equity every 4 years.

Methodology & citing this report

Every figure is computed from the same versioned rulesets that power certification.app's compliance engine. Each ruleset is authored from the state board's statute, administrative rule, or official guidance, carries its source URL and a last-verified date, and goes through automated QA before publication. This page recomputes from the live corpus daily, and the current verification window is July 2026 – October 2026. Annualized figures divide the cycle total by the cycle length, and rules without a single total-hour figure are listed but not ranked. You'll find details and limitations in our methodology & disclaimer.

You're welcome to cite or republish these figures with attribution. Link to this page or the underlying state page so readers can see the board source and verification date. For press or data questions, use the contact on our practices page.

Make your next renewal easier.

Add your license and the ruleset behind this report becomes a checklist on your record: hours, ethics, format caps, and the one-time mandates.

30 days free, no credit card.