Hawaii Psychologist Continuing Education Requirements
Hawaii psychologists must complete 18 continuing education hours every 2 years to renew their Psychologist license.
18
total hours / 2 years
Biennial renewal · calculating the next statewide deadline
Hawaii Psychologist requirements
| Requirement | Notes |
|---|---|
| Total continuing education | 18 hours every 2 years. |
| Renewal | Biennial cycle: CE due by June 30 of even years. |
| Renewal fee | $278 board renewal fee every 2 years. |
| New licensees | First renewal is different: new licensees have adjusted first-cycle requirements (proration and/or first-cycle-only rules), which we apply automatically. |
| Approved providers | Qualifying CE may be offered or sponsored by apa approved provider and state professional association and recognized associations in psychology. |
| Recordkeeping | Keep CE documentation for 2 years after the end of each cycle. |
| Board audit | The board may audit licensees to verify CE compliance. |
| Late renewal | A late renewal allows a 365-day grace period after expiration and a late fee. |
| Provisional renewal | The board allows a provisional/conditional renewal for up to 24 months before full compliance is required. Hawaii's noncompliance-extension (HRS § 465-11(f)) functions as a conditional renewal: a licensee short on CE may renew via fee + notarized affidavit + extension request, conditioned on completing at least 36 hours in the next biennium (a 24-month cycle). The statute sets no numeric maximum term and does not state the conditional status is separately renewable; it is granted per biennium at the board's discretion. |
Keeping the proof in order: what to keep for a CE audit, with every state’s retention period and what the audit notice asks for.
Full board policy details
- CREDIT UNIT: Hawaii defines a "credit hour" as the value assigned to fifty (50) minutes of instruction (HRS § 465-1), not a 60-minute clock hour.
- APPROVED COURSES / PROVIDER TEST: CE must consist of courses approved by the American Psychological Association (APA), the Hawaii Psychological Association (HPA), or other state or provincial psychological associations (HRS § 465-1). The board does not publish its own approved-provider list; all 18 hours must be such approved courses (no partial-percentage carve-out). Documentation acceptability is tested only on audit.
- NO FORMAT CONSTRAINTS: Neither HRS § 465-11 nor HAR Ch. 16-98 caps self-study/home-study hours, sets a live/in-person minimum, distinguishes delivery mode (live-interactive online not addressed), or sets per-day / per-credit / single-course / single-instructor caps. All silences are genuine findings.
- NO REQUIRED TOPICS: Hawaii mandates a bare 18-hour count with no subject-matter requirements — no ethics, cultural competency/implicit bias, suicide-risk, or telehealth topic hours.
- NO ACTIVITY CATEGORIES: Hawaii enumerates no acceptable activity types (no teaching, publication, supervision, peer consultation, board certification, or committee-service credit) and no lettered/named category groups. There is no "draw from N categories" rule and no category floor. No activity-specific credit conversions are defined.
- COURSE REPEAT RESTRICTIONS: None stated. Neither the statute nor HAR Ch. 16-98 restricts repeating a course for credit or an instructor teaching the same course more than once (no teaching-credit provision exists).
- LICENSE STATUS RULES: A psychologist not practicing in the State for at least one year may petition for inactive status without penalty (HRS § 465-11(b)); an inactive licensee is considered unlicensed and does not accrue the biennial 18 hours while inactive (inactive renewal $12.00). No separate "retired" status or CE exemption is stated. REACTIVATION: an application for reactivation is made upon payment of the biennial license fee and subject to board review "as provided in its rules"; a specific reactivation CE hour count or timeframe is NOT stated in statute, rules, or the board's reactivation page — treat as board discretion (MANUAL REVIEW).
- HARDSHIP / NONCOMPLIANCE EXTENSION (HRS § 465-11(f)): A licensee seeking renewal without full CE compliance may submit the renewal fee, a notarized affidavit explaining the noncompliance, and a request for an extension, PROVIDED the licensee completes at least thirty-six (36) hours of CE for the next licensing biennium. The board decides case-by-case and may grant an extension based on (1) practice in an isolated geographical area lacking CE opportunities, or (2) incapacity, undue hardship, or other serious extenuating circumstances. The 36-hour make-up depends on a historical noncompliance determination and cannot be represented as an exact automatic requirement — MANUAL REVIEW.
- GRACE / RESTORATION: A license forfeited for failure to renew may be restored within one year by payment of the renewal fee (and, if audited, submission of CE compliance documentation for the biennium in which the failure occurred). After more than one year lapsed, the person must reapply as a new applicant.
- CARRYOVER: No carryover of excess CE hours to a later biennium is permitted; HRS § 465-11 requires 18 hours "within every licensing biennium" and is silent on carryover.
We turn every category, format limit, and one-time rule on this page into a live checklist on your Hawaii Psychologist record, and reapply board changes automatically as they happen.
Track Hawaii Psychologist CE free →Hawaii Psychologist CE: frequently asked questions
How many CE hours do Hawaii Psychologist licensees need?
Hawaii requires 18 continuing education hours every 2 years to renew a Psychologist license. Biennial cycle: CE due by June 30 of even years.
How often do Hawaii Psychologist licensees renew?
Biennial cycle: CE due by June 30 of even years.
How much does Hawaii Psychologist license renewal cost?
The board's renewal fee is $278 every 2 years, per the Hawaii board fee schedule. CE course costs are separate and set by course providers.
Is the first renewal different for new Hawaii Psychologist licensees?
First renewal is different: new licensees have adjusted first-cycle requirements (proration and/or first-cycle-only rules), which we apply automatically.
Sources & verification
- State source
- Hawaii board rule
- Last verified
- August 2026
- Ruleset version
- 2026.2
Reviewed against the Hawaii board source and refreshed from the compiled ruleset above. Methodology and disclaimer. Compliance data is for guidance only, not legal or board advice. Always confirm requirements with your licensing board before renewing. See something wrong? Report it →
Track your Hawaii Psychologist CE without the spreadsheet.
Log your hours, watch every category pace toward your biennial renewal, and keep your certificates in one record. Free to start, no credit card required.
Create your free recordHawaiiguides & data
What to keep for a CE audit
What boards ask for in a CE audit, how long each state says to keep certificates, what the notice looks like, and a printable checklist.
Hawaii mental health workforce data
5,688 active providers, or 397 per 100,000 residents, ranked 31 of 51. County density map and free CSV downloads.