Mississippi Psychologist Continuing Education Requirements
Mississippi psychologists must complete 20 continuing education hours every 2 years to renew their Psychologist license, including 2 hours of ethics.
Next deadline: June 30, 2027The renewal cycle is biennial, and CE is due by June 30 of odd years.
License renewal in odd numbered years requires the psychologist to show evidence of a minimum of twenty (20) clock hours1 of Board approved continuing education (CE) activities during the two-year period of time ending on June 30 of the odd numbered year1. … A minimum of two (2) of these twenty (20) clock-hours2 of continuing education must involve topics in professional ethics or legal issues2 in the delivery of psychological services. … For registered attendance at psychological or inter-professional conferences or training programs offered by non-Board-approved providers … the Board will accept up to three (3) clock hours for each such conference3 or training program. During a biennium, the Board will accept a maximum of six (6) clock hours4 from such conferences or training programs toward satisfying the continuing education requirement.
- 20 hours in the two years ending June 30 of odd years
- At least 2 hours of ethics or legal issues
- No more than 3 hours per conference from a non-approved provider
- No more than 6 hours total from non-approved-provider conferences
It's free for 30 days, and you don't need a card.
Mississippi Psychologist requirements
Total
Topic minimums, counted within the 20
- Ethics
- 2
- You need 2 hours each cycle.
Limits on how the hours are earned
- Conference non approved provider
- max 6 hrs
- Conference non approved provider
- max 3 hrs per activity
Cycle and record rules
- Renewal
- The renewal cycle is biennial, and CE is due by June 30 of odd years.
- Renewal fee
- The board renewal fee is $275 every 2 years.
- New licensees
- The first renewal is different. New licensees have adjusted first-cycle requirements, such as prorated hours or first-cycle-only rules, and we apply them automatically.
- Approved providers
- For recognized provider instructional experience, qualifying CE may be offered or sponsored by apa approved provider, accme accredited provider, and board approved sponsor.
- Board audit
- The board may audit licensees to verify CE compliance.
- Late renewal
- A late renewal adds a late fee.
To keep your proof in order, see what to keep for a CE audit, which covers every state’s retention period and what the audit notice asks for.
Check where you stand
Enter the hours you have completed this cycle to see what is left before June 30, 2027.
Your result appears here as you enter hours.
Open the full Psychologist CE hours calculatorAlso hold a Mississippi LPC license? Each board runs its own CE cycle. See the Mississippi LPC requirements.
Full board policy details
- ACCEPTABILITY STANDARDS: Creditable CE is (A) a formally organized/planned instructional experience offered by an APA-approved, CPA-approved, NASP, ACCME (referred to as 'AACME' in the rule text), or MS-Board-approved provider (Rule 12.3.A; no maximum, may satisfy all 20 hours), or (B) registered attendance at a psychological/inter-professional conference or training program offered by a NON-Board-approved provider, directly related to the practice of psychology and lasting one full day or longer (Rule 12.3.B). The limited Rule 12.3.B full-day conference/training pathway from a non-Board-approved provider does not require advance approval; any other CE from an unlisted sponsor requires prior Board approval. Providers eligible to become MS-Board-approved: the Mississippi Psychological Association, APA-approved internship/fellowship training programs, and graduate psychology departments with APA-accredited programs (Rule 12.4); provider status renews every two years. Licensees must retain corroborating documentation (certificate of completion with statement of accreditation), producible on Board request (Rule 12.5.C). CPA-approved and NASP-approved providers are accepted automatically per Rule 12.3.A but have no distinct canonical accepted provider types slug; captured here in prose.
- FORMAT CONSTRAINTS: The current Final 10.19.2022 Chapter 12 states NO self-study/home-study cap, NO minimum live/in-person requirement, and does not distinguish delivery mode. The 2013 'home study' and academic-coursework categories/conversions were REMOVED in the current rule. CE is reportable in clock-hours (Rule 12.2); the rule does not state a separate general conversion ratio. The only quantitative activity cap is on non-Board-approved-provider conferences: up to 3 clock-hours per conference and a maximum of 6 clock-hours per biennium (Rule 12.3.B), encoded structurally above.
- COURSE REPEAT RESTRICTIONS: Not addressed in the codified rule. The rule does not enumerate teaching/instructing as a creditable CE activity (only attendance at instructional experiences and conferences is credited), so there is no repeat-teaching credit rule. Repeat courses in the same cycle are not stated/not prohibited (Rule 12.3). The only repeat-type limitation is the per-event/per-biennium cap on non-approved-provider conferences.
- LICENSE STATUS RULES: No distinct 'inactive' license status with a CE exemption exists (no inactive-status carve-out in Chapter 12). Retired status is NOT exempt, the nearest analog, Psychologist Emeritus (retirees 65+, practicing <=80 hours/month; Rule 5.2), has CE requirements identical to the standard permanent license (Rule 5.2.F). Reactivating from lapse (Rule 10.2): a lapsed or voluntarily surrendered (in good standing) license may be reinstated if a written request is made within two years of the last renewal date, all fees are paid, and all continuing education requirements have been fulfilled; no separate reactivation CE quota is added beyond the outstanding biennial requirement. A license lapsed more than two years requires full re-application. No hardship/illness/military/disability CE waiver or extension exists; shortfalls are handled via the Rule 12.7 noncompliance/'plan of compliance' process. NO CARRYOVER of excess hours is permitted (rule measures each biennium discretely and contains no carryover authorization).
- OVERLAYS (not part of MS CE): PSYPACT authority (APIT/TAP built on an ASPPB E.Passport or IPC) is a mobility overlay administered by the PSYPACT Commission/ASPPB, valid one year and renewed annually, it does not alter the 20-hour biennial CE requirement. Mississippi does not grant prescriptive authority (RxP) to psychologists, so there is no separate prescriptive-authority CE obligation.
- ENGINE PATH TAGGING: Formally organized Rule 12.3.A instructional experiences should be tagged recognized provider instructional experience so the recognized-provider list is enforced. The limited Rule 12.3.B full-day conference/training pathway should instead be tagged conference non approved provider; its 3-hour event and 6-hour biennial caps then apply without incorrectly requiring an approved provider.
Mississippi Psychologist CE: frequently asked questions
How many CE hours do Mississippi Psychologist licensees need?
Mississippi requires 20 continuing education hours every 2 years to renew a Psychologist license. The renewal cycle is biennial, and CE is due by June 30 of odd years.
How many ethics hours are required for Mississippi Psychologist licensees?
Of the total, 2 hours must be in ethics.
How often do Mississippi Psychologist licensees renew?
The renewal cycle is biennial, and CE is due by June 30 of odd years.
How much does Mississippi Psychologist license renewal cost?
The board's renewal fee is $275 every 2 years, per the Mississippi board fee schedule. CE course costs are separate and set by course providers.
Is the first renewal different for new Mississippi Psychologist licensees?
The first renewal is different. New licensees have adjusted first-cycle requirements, such as prorated hours or first-cycle-only rules, and we apply them automatically.
Sources and verification
- State source
- Mississippi board rule
- Last verified
- August 2026
- Ruleset version
- 2026.3
We reviewed this page against the Mississippi board source, and we refresh it from the compiled ruleset above. Methodology and disclaimer. Compliance data is for guidance only, not legal or board advice. Always confirm requirements with your licensing board before renewing. See something wrong? Report it
Make your next renewal easier.
Add your Mississippi Psychologist license and every requirement on this page becomes a checklist on your record.
30 days free, no credit card.
Mississippi guides & data
Other Mississippi CE requirement pages
Psychologist CE requirements in other states
- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California
- Colorado
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York
- North Carolina
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming